The Water Playlist

charlessunrise

Sunrise on the Charles River, spring 2014

Last week while rowing on the Charles in a single, my mind wandered to Regina Spektor’s song “Blue Lips.” I couldn’t remember all the lyrics, but the lines:

Blue, the most human color
Blue lips, blue veins
Blue, the color of our planet
From far, far away

 

… stuck with me. Once I had docked the boat and was on my way upstairs to stretch, I knew that I wanted to make a playlist about water.

In keeping with water’s free-flowing nature––it is a substance that knows no boundaries––I decided to crowd-source a playlist from my Facebook friends. Otherwise we would be listening to the Indigo Girls for days, which is my kind of heaven, but not everyone’s. Plus, I always love an excuse to listen to artists who are new to me. Then Meghan Chiampa, owner of one of the most beautiful bicycles in Boston, posted the call for water-music on her personal page & we had a real fountain of songs to drink from. Responses kept pouring in.

bedazzledbike

My jaw nearly hit the sidewalk when I saw Meghan’s bike.

This Spotify playlist is the result.

(https://play.spotify.com/user/128551021/playlist/71258otqfWusIBZyvhvhci)

Screen Shot 2014-08-14 at 1.26.49 AM

What other water-based songs would you add?

One thought on “The Water Playlist

  1. I’m so glad you posted this – I’ve been thinking all summer about water. Have you read Submergence? I thought it was excellent and it’s definitely worth a look if you haven’t yet.

Leave a Reply

