Open Call for Stories: People’s Climate March, September 19-21

Do you have a story to tell about water and climate change?

If so, there’s a folklorist on call (that’s me!) at the People’s Climate March who wants to listen and, if you’re comfortable, record your voice to be included as part of an online sound-map of stories about water and climate change.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 3.35.02 AM

Over the course of the next year, I will be making audio recordings of stories on these themes in Fiji, Tuvalu, New Zealand, and the U.K.––the People’s Climate March is my first stop and I want to include your voice, too.

About the audio collector: I am a poet, touring cyclist, and storyteller who is fortunate enough to be the recipient of Harvard’s Gardner and Shaw Postgraduate Traveling Fellowship for a year of purposeful travel. Over the course of the next year (September 2014-September 2015) I will bike and travel in New Zealand, Fiji, Tuvalu, and the U.K. The aim of my trip is to listen. Along the way I will collect stories from the people I meet about water-based climate change, or anything else that comes up.

With your permission, the story you tell will be featured on One Bike, One Year (www.onebikeoneyear.wordpress.com) and included in the story map as it unfolds over the course of the next year.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any comments or questions. I am eager to hear your voice!

P.S. Exact date/time and location to come. At the moment I am based in CT. I will be in NYC from Sept. 19-21 for the March, though if there is sufficient interest, I can make a trip to the city even earlier. Do you have a suggestion of a place that would make sense to record? It needs to be not too loud, but also not dead quiet.

Sign up at the People’s Climate March Satellite Events Meetup page: http://www.meetup.com/Peoples-Climate-March-Satellite-Events/events/205536872/

Comments/questions: http://www.twitter.com/devi_lockwood

Leave a Reply

