Mickey Mouse & Elmo on Climate Change

“I am learning to love the questions more than the answers.”
— Devi Lockwood

I’m thrilled to be a part of Amy Gigi Alexander‘s blog this month as part of the “Stories of Good” series. The story I wrote comes from the first night of my year-long trip to collect stories from people I meet about water and climate change. (Micky Mouse and Elmo had a fair bit to share on this topic).

gigiblog

While you’re at it, check out Amy’s writing — she is stunning. The real deal. It is such an honor to be the first writer in her guest series.

Coming later this week: a post from Amy on One Bike, One Year about female travelers. I can’t wait to share it with you.

Here is an excerpt from Mickey Mouse & Elmo on Climate Change:

Minnie Mouse taps Mickey’s shoulder. “Mira, la chica con el letrero,” she mouths, pointing to the cardboard sign hanging around my neck.

Mickey saunters towards me in his big, red shoes. The oversized mouse head obscures any suggestion of eyes beneath, so I take a guess and look at what I think is a reasonable human eye-level as we speak.

“You want a story about climate change?” Mickey growls, a note of incredulity in his voice. His words are muffled slightly through the mask. I nod, point at the audio recorder in my hand and he nods back. I press record.

“Just you wait,” Mickey breathes, his voice hushed and dark. “This whole thing––Hollywood, the lights,” he says, gesturing at the block of Times Square that surrounds us, “––is all an illusion. Deep down something is very, very wrong.”

Though it is after 10pm, it could be daytime for all the illuminated advertisements that hover over our heads like gods. A beacon of light: this America. Janelle Monáe and Windows Play. Gillette Razors and Coca Cola.

“The water’s gonna come and wash all this away,” Mickey continues, his hands waving up and down the tall buildings surrounding us. “The whole coastline of the country will change, this year, even. When it happens, it will set our country back 100 years. There will be wars over water. Just you wait.”

Hop on over to Amy Gigi Alexander’s website for the whole story!

Leave a Reply

