List

arabesque

Travel can be a time of reflection. Solo travel, especially.

This list started to form on a sunset run I took in Labasa, Fiji a few nights ago and has continued to grow. I want to have a record of it here for myself. And, who knows, maybe this list will be of use to you, too.

I am a work in progress. I am learning to be patient with myself. Traveling slowly enables this. I am grateful to have this year to work with myself and grow.

Goals:

  • find a career that lets me spend time outside and time writing every day
  • read voraciously. words are life.
  • conquer my fear of painting
  • publish a book of poems
  • run a half marathon
  • run a whole marathon
  • compete in a half ironman
  • compete in a full ironman (if my grandfather can do it, then I can too, right?)
  • continue to become better at communicating
  • relatedly: not project my emotions onto others. deal with my own messes more effectively. this takes work. writing helps.
  • don’t be afraid to be vulnerable (in writing, in life)
  • dig my heels into the hard things rather than turning away from or burying them
  • continue to write daily
  • trust my instincts
  • be like Margaret Atwood and do more than one genre well
  • always remember to laugh at myself
  • attend a zillion modern dance classes
  • have my water and climate change stories made into a dance production
  • fight racism, classism, ageism, ableism, and homophobia in my everyday life
  • do not be afraid to speak out against injustice
  • do not settle for less than the best in relationships
  • surround myself with people who support me and make me feel more alive
  • seek out artistic community
  • travel and write and cycle in every continent
  • give myself permission to feel
  • own my fears. see them clearly for what they are
  • grow a garden
  • give back to the communities that have nurtured me
  • live a life that the childhood me would be glad to see I have grown into

 

Things I miss while traveling:

  • snow (I am really my mother’s daughter)
  • family and holiday gatherings
  • variety in my daily diet
  • hugs
  • human touch
  • predictable days/a schedule
  • queer community
  • kidney beans
  • Brussels sprouts
  • kale
  • balsamic vinegar
  • salads
  • crunchy vegetables
  • oatmeal
  • dark chocolate
  • being able to drink water from the tap
  • fast internet
  • having a kitchen to make food in
  • being able to blast the Indigo Girls on speakers at full volume and dance around a room
  • my bicycle (though this will be coming to me soon––January 20th, 2015!)
  • being surrounded by books other than the bible
Leave a Reply

