Canopus

Earlier today I was sitting on a flight of stairs on a side-street in Labasa, waiting for a bus. It was all I could do to hold myself together in public and not cry. A man walked by and asked me if I was lost, if I was okay.

I struggled to answer honestly.

I took out my journal and wrote over and over the only words that could seem to keep me calm:

“It is our duty to fight for our freedom. It is our duty to win. We must love each other and support each other. We have nothing to lose but our chains.” – Assata Shakur

Love. Love. Love.

I challenge you (by which I mean that I am challenging myself) to love in the midst of this pain. We must love and support one another. We must.

We have nothing to lose but our chains.

I am drifting. My body is in Fiji but my heart is in the states.

I am afraid. I am not proud of my country and wish, at the same time, that I could be stateside for a protest. To demand change. To demand justice. ‪#‎BlackLivesMatter‬ My heart is with all of you in the streets tonight. Thank you for doing what you are doing. My heart is with all of you at home.

This week I feel untethered. I am doing by best to give myself permission to feel. To be thankful and enraged all at once. To have the difficult conversations with myself.

This week I am looking up. Orion is sideways. I’m on a hunt for Canopus. I’m going to learn new constellations and shout things to the sky because I can.

Screen Shot 2014-11-26 at 10.02.46 PM

(The Neave Planetarium is a wonderful resource for constellation-finding based on location and time of the day: http://neave.com/planetarium/)

 

 

Leave a Reply

