Q&A: Lean In To What You Love

M asked:
Hi. I teach in China where all my kids are pressured to make money. I have a female student who is a gifted writer of narratives who longs to travel the world. She can’t now see this as a real possibility. I told her about you today. If you have time, would you be willing to give her some kind of message? I was thinking maybe a selfie of you holding a sign that says something like: “Lean in to what you love.” I remember you said your mother taught you that. The girl’s English name is Katherine. If you can do this, I will be grateful. Thanks.

leanintowhatyoulove2

Katherine, we haven’t met, but I wish that we could. If I could talk to you in person right now, I would tell you to lean in to what you love.

You know what you want to do with your life––it’s not about pleasing other people. Yes, we are brought up that way. As women, especially. It’s a thing that I am doing my best to unlearn.

Live your truth.

Read voraciously.

Find a way to make travel happen––M will be a great resource in pointing you in the right direction. (Fulbright? Other funding sources? Finding a way to work and travel at once?)

There are as many ways to see the world as there are people living in it.

The important thing is that you keep on writing.

I believe in you.

You can do this.


If you have a question, please don’t hesitate to ask! You can reach me in the comments here, or via the Contact Me page above.
~
I love questions. They are energetic spaces.

2 thoughts on “Q&A: Lean In To What You Love

Leave a Reply

