Arthur’s Pass

Today was a big day.

arthurspass1

920m?! that’s almost a kilometer in the sky!

I cycled to the top of Arthur’s Pass, and then some.

arthurspass2

Sweat & sunscreen & smiles.

I picked a wildflower at the tippy top and put it behind my ear & did a little dance, just for myself. Because that is tradition now.

Big hills call for big celebrations.

arthurspass3

CAN YOU SEE HOW STEEP THIS WAS, THOUGH.

AND IT WASN’T EVEN CLOSE TO THE TOP.

arthurspass5

I am #solofemaletouringcyclist #POET #feminist on wheels, hear me roar!!!

Ah shucks, the photos will never do it justice.

The whole way up I could hear the mountain river rushing below. Waterfalls poured out of the hills.

I’m buggered.

… in the best possible way. In an I-can’t-believe-I-actually-cycled-up-to-Arthur’s-Pass kind of way.

arthurspass6

DEATH’S CORNER

I may or may not have braved death to make it to the top.

*ahem*

Cycle touring is serious business.

arthurspass7

But the mountains.

It was worth it for the mountains.

(and all the encouragement people shouted to me from their cars! Thank you, kind strangers!)

arthurspass8

I am so totally my mother’s daughter.

Here’s to making it to the top of big hills.

And here’s to sore legs. Because I am definitely going to be feeling this tomorrow.

Sleep calls.

over and out,

d

7 thoughts on “Arthur’s Pass

  1. *ahem* I’m quite glad that you may (not?) have braved death to make it to the top. (-;

    or down the other side for that matter — I can only imagine how fast that descent must have been.

    sending lots of love and hugs.

    xoxoxo

  2. Pingback: Crossing the Tasman Sea Aboard a Cargo Ship | One Bike, One Year

Leave a Reply

