Big Coal

Marmor, QLD, Australia

Marmor, QLD, Australia

Impossibly long trains carry coal to the Queensland coast (for the power plant in Gladstone & for export overseas). 

I stopped to count: 125 carriages. 

Full to the sea, empty to the mines. And repeat.

The operation runs constantly. In a few hours of riding alongside the tracks this morning I counted at least six coal trains, plus a rogue passenger train. I’m about to go to sleep to the sound of coal moving (always moving) over the rails.

I am in awe of the scale of this operation.

Capitalism in action: the fuel. 

I wonder if I should try to visit a mine.

3 thoughts on “Big Coal

Leave a Reply

