Seeking a Boat to Indonesia

Hey beautiful people,

I’m at it again. As many of you know, I’ve made a commitment to stop flying. I’m doing my best to complete this journey to collect 1001 stories from people I meet about water and/or climate change while traveling entirely overland (and over sea). I crossed the Tasman Sea from New Zealand to Australia aboard a cargo ship.

HOKAY, SO:

Indonesia is next!

seekingaboattoindo

setting the magic in motion, one marina at a time

I’ll be leaving notes like these on cork boards at marinas up the east coast of Australia, but I figure the online community is a great place to post the notice, too. I have a profile on FindACrew.net, too.

With a little bit of luck (and help from my friends), this can happen.

If you know of anyone who is making the journey from Australia to Southeast Asia by boat and is willing to take a keen cyclist on board, please send them my way!

Right now my biggest challenge will be making it from Townsville (where I plan to be for my birthday, Sept. 24) to Darwin relatively quickly to catch a boat. Cyclone season starts in late October, and goodness knows there won’t be boats making the passage then.

Australia is huge. If you know of someone who is driving from Townsville to Darwin in late September or early October and would like a buddy / storyteller in the passenger seat to pass the time, please send them my way.

Sweet. Ya’ll are the bees knees.

xo

D

7 thoughts on “Seeking a Boat to Indonesia

Leave a Reply

