Cargo Ship Update

In my first few hours aboard the Spirit of Singapore, I…

1. Took a nap (holy goodness, I’ve been going for a while without sleeping, I realize… the 11pm-3am night shift on a sailing boat will do that to you….)

spiritofsingapore_whereisleep

This is where I sleep on the cargo ship.

2. Had a one-woman dance party in my room to Amy Ray’s “Cold Shoulder”, while I unpacked my ish and photographed the cranes against the sunset. I guess you could say that I’m settled in.

3. Started to edit a video for my Patreon backers––a series of long, slow shots taken aboard the SV Pelican. It’s a work in progress.

Screen Shot 2015-10-24 at 11.16.27 PM

4. Took many photos of the galley and made friends with the cook. I’m going to be more intentional about befriending the crew this time around. Maybe I’ll even get to the level of playing guitar with them. There are two guitars in the crew recreation room. Confidence is a work in progress, always. There are few things as full of magic as a G chord. I love the way it fills a room.

spiritofsingapore_handsanitizer

Hand sanitizer in the galley. There’s not a doctor on board, so staying germ-free is a priority.

spiritofsingapore_goodhousekeeping

So many ways to unpack this sign in the galley… SO MANY WAYS. Let’s talk about gender at sea, though, eh? Someone once told me that women on a ship is bad luck. Sounds like misogynistic bullcrap to me. But a “Good Housekeeping” poster featuring a dude? Not to mention the checkered pants. Not to mention EVERYTHING ELSE. Ahem. #culture


5. Made an audio recording of a water story: the 3rd Officer’s narration of my safety tour. I hope that listening to it will give ya’ll a sense of the enormity of the ship.
The audio recordings won’t be ready to share for a long while yet, but rest assured that they are there.

spiritofsingapore_storysign

6. Shared travel stories with the Captain and Chief Engineer over dinner. And the cook made me a yummy vegetarian curry… praises be on food. It makes all the difference.

spiritofsingapore_chef

7. Cut my hair for the first time in a while, using the scissors on a Swiss Army Knife that an ex-navy friend sent me for my birthday. Sometimes self-care looks like this:  

spiritofsingapore_haircut

spiritofsingapore_hair2THANK YOU to everyone who helped me get here (yes, that’s you)! I’m so much looking forward to sharing a piece of this journey with you.

P.S. Kickstarter backers: if you haven’t yet, please respond to the message I sent out so that I know where to address the postcards & letters, etc.

spiritofsingapore_portbotany

P.P.S. I’ll be out of internet range for the next several days while crossing the Tasman Sea. Thanks for yr patience.

Big cargo love,
Devi at Port

Leave a Reply

