Rhythm (yes, again)

I have written about rhythm before.

Silence is rhythmic architecture — the places where we build things. Silence is beautiful.

I’m wrestling with a 50,000 word beast and crafting a letter to send to literary agents, yes, but my days in this river town are bookended by sweat: rowing and boxing.

I like working hard and punching the pads of my kick-ass boxing buddy and gliding on the misty morning river. I like it a whole lot.

The sound of my gloves colliding with her pads or her gloves colliding with my pads is not unlike a firework.

This year on New Year’s Eve I embraced my inner nannaish tendencies. I did not go out. I made myself an elaborate meal of veggies dipped in hummus. I wrote three letters to friends back home while listening to episodes of On Being. At midnight I played guitar for no one but myself. I sat on the porch and listened to the sounds of fireworks going off all around. It was a night I loved for its stillness––an evening so still I could see my own reflection.

A few days ago I made a list of things I love. Because, hey, it’s beautiful to be alive. Also, pesto. Nuff said.

thingsilove

While I was writing this list, the sky was being itself. I love watching the sunset from a porch. Every minute, every moment, was brand new.

porchsunsetlove

It’s beautiful to be staying still. It’s beautiful to be writing and to be getting those words out into the world.

Three more things happened today:

  1. The piece I wrote for Harvard Magazine went live: http://harvardmagazine.com/2016/01/listening-as-activism

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 5.07.47 PM

2. I went live on the air with ABC Darwin (National Radio in Australia) to reflect on the past year & the unfolding mysteries of 2016:

https://soundcloud.com/1057darwin/an-inspiring-2015-the-adventures-of-devi-lockwood 

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 5.11.36 PM

Public radio is an intensely intimate experience. I love that about it.

3. I made my favorite recipe in the whole world, Carrot Pie from Mollie Katzen’s Enchanted Broccoli Forest––domestic bliss for this little touring cyclist that could.

carrot pie recipe // nut crust recipe

There’s magic in stillness, ya’ll.

And eating is a way of knowing. Listening is a way of knowing. Loving is a kind of surrender.

There is rhythm in motion and there is rhythm in staying still.

So glad to be here on this journey with you. The year is off to a whirlwind of a crazy-gorgeous start.

Love to you,

Devi

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Rhythm (yes, again)

Leave a Reply

